Knitting for Love

Every Christmas Eve we have a gift exchange game as a preview for the Big Day. $5 limit (give or take) and no ‘white elephant’ crap. Just fun little items anyone could potentially like. I gave a skein of Malabrigo with a note promising any item the winner wanted made from the skein. My sister and Mom fought over it with Mom coming out on top and she picked comfy cozy house socks from One Skein Wonders.

The Parental Units left before I finished the socks and I dorkily forgot to snap a shot before sending them off. I bugged Mom till she sent this.

Mom's socks

Do you see how lovely and shapely her feet and ankles are? Suppose I got her skinny gams? Nope, I’m my dad through and through. Cankles, I tells ya! (BTW, that black splotch was a defect in the yarn.)

Digression: Interested in something different for charity knitting? Check out http://www.myspace.com/warmandfuzzysf which was started by a high school student who wanted to help the homeless. My friend knits with this mature and impressive gal in the City and hopes everyone will be willing to contribute. So cool! My main concerns in high school were with how I was gonna buy that pair of Guess Jeans on my allowance and who was gonna ask me to prom.

2 Comments

Filed under Good Deeds

2 responses to “Knitting for Love

  1. How cool. I did visit and I will see what I can do, I am very impressed.

  2. coveredinyarn

    Yay for knitted gifts!

Leave a Reply

