Razzle Dazzle

I hearby nickname Vogue Knitting Fall 2005 Pattern #11 (aka V-neck pullover) “Razzle Dazzle”. There’s a lot of flash in this deceivingly quick and simple knit. I finished the body in about five days and knit up nearly an entire sleeve last night (I would have finished but we had errands to run) but it looks like it’s time/effort intensive. “Give ’em the ol’ razzle dazzle . . .”

dscf2318.JPG

There was some confusion when I got to the front shoulders but a few minutes of reading the pattern over and over and over while looking at the photo helped me puzzle it out. You can just see at the top of the pic the extra length of ‘collar’ that will get sewn to the shoulder and back, creating a yoke look. Another puzzling piece of this pattern: the neck edge calls for one st of garter along the entire length. At first, this looks wrong and I was tempted to switch it to stockinette the whole way but decided to trust the pattern. After all, what’s the worst that could happen? I have to frog back 15 minutes worth of knitting? Big whoop. So on I knit and wouldn’t you know, that one st garter edge helps stop the neckline from rolling a bunch – just enough to tuck the garter edge under so it’s invisible. A very neat little trick!

dscf2317.JPG

It’s still raining. Hubbo is planning on a little trip while I’m on deadline. If you’ll recall, he’s doing a singlehanded race from SF to Hawaii next summer. Remember Tess? Remember that we sold her because we found a better boat? Well, he has the new boat pretty much ready to do his qualifying sail – 400 miles non-stop, sail-only, singlehanded. Should take about 4-5 days. Usually October is a lovely month here – no fog, mild winds, sunny skies. Hopefully this system passes and no more roll through before he finishes the trip. Wish him luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Razzle Dazzle

  1. SP11

    Trick-Or-Treat: Coming to a PO Box near you!

  2. Wow, you dazzled me, girl! I’ve been out of the blogging loop for a few weeks (where does the time go?) and I came back to this inspiring sweater! It’s lovely! I can’t wait to see it completed!

Leave a Reply

