Best Laid Plans

Hubbo’s racing in a singlehanded race next weekend that goes from San Fran to the Farallon Islands and back – it’s only about 30 miles offshore but it can get pretty bumpy and cold out thereout there. Luckily, he never ever gets seasick. Creep.

I wanted to knit up the — ah hem — emerald Malabrigo into a cabled toque for the race but I also wanted it to be a surprise. I was knitting on the sly every minute I could but after 3 days only had an inch of ribbing done. There was no way I’d finish before the race. Finally, I decided I would go for it in front of him and see how long it took for him to notice. THREE DAYS, people! I’m slinging this lurvely yarn around like spaghetti (no, I don’t really sling spaghetti around) and he’s paying no attention.

I do have to cut him some slack though. This race is weighing heavily on his mind and he’s working 24/7 on Tess, getting her ready (or as ready as possible). Last night, after kicking serious arse on Tess, we hobbled back home to watch The Sopranos. Just before it started, I picked up the hat and began my second row of cables (I’ll tell you about that in a sec). He looked down and the following discourse took place:

“What’s that?”
“A hat.”
“What’s it for?”
“Most people use them to keep their heads warm.”
“I mean, who’s it for?”
A sly look up to meet his eyes. “You.”

All together now: Aaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

hat1.jpg

So what I want to know is, why was I so scared of cabling? What’s the big frigging deal? This hat was supposed to be some big Everest: My first cabled item! I, totally by coincidence, got to the first cable row the night before our Uknitty meeting. Great! My knitty pals will totally guide and mentor me through the trauma that cabling must be. Heck, I hardly needed them at all. They told me it was no biggie but I couldn’t believe them. Cables are so lovely and complicated looking that the process must be tough. Nope. Easy peasy!

NEWS FLASH!

Look what just arrived!

dscf1164.jpg

My KnitPicks Options set (I added the little flower)!! I’m at work so I’ll have to wait till tonight to put it all together but I promise a full review when I can. In the meantime, Carmen wrote up a review on her blog that ya’ll might find interesting.

1 Comment

Filed under Good Deeds

One response to “Best Laid Plans

  1. Nosy1

    Awesome! They arrived! Now you can really do some “damage”.
    I know what you mean about cables. I too thought that they were going to be the Holy Grail of knitting. More like Monty Python’s Holy Grail since they are more fun than difficult.

Leave a Reply

