Luscious Llama Love

My wonderful beautiful Atacama Alpaca from Little Knits arrived yesterday.

dscf0765.JPG

It’s sooooo soft and scrumptious and the colors are pretty much what I expected.

dscf0763.JPG

My only concern was how the distinct ‘blotches’ of color would knit up. What’s a girl to do? I just had to cast on for Cat Bordhi‘s Moebius Scarf! Of course my ball winder was in storage so I was forced to use the swift and my finger. Just look at this sad, skanky ball:

dscf0760.JPG

Truly pathetic. But it’s working (until I get to the middle and it gets impossibly knotted up).

Figuring out the Moebius Cast On was tricky. Cat describes it well but getting started knitting was where I got messed up as she doesn’t mention joining the rounds right off. Probably just my dummy-ness but there you have it. After casting on about five times, and joining and frogging twice, I think I have it. I’m only three rows in but I think I definitely see the Moebius part! Of course I couldn’t get a photo that would show it yet but it’s a pretty quick knit so by Monday, I should be well into it. And, as you can see, it’s knitting up beautifully.
cowl.jpg

If you look closely, you can see that this 47″ Addi Turbo (my first ever and boy is it slick!) is looped and crossed once to create the Moebius. Radical knitting, man!

dscf0758.JPG

The weekend forecast is for beautiful weather so I have a feeling my new Sunday knitting friends might have other, more sunny things to do but I’ll be there. Mill Valley Starbucks (Miller & Camino Alto, next to the Safeway) from 10-12 on Sunday. See you there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

