Yummy Yummy In My Tummy

I love Christmas. I love the yummy warm feeling in my tummy (hey, that rhymes), the cheeriness everyone seems to exude, buying – or making – gifts I just know my loved ones will treasure forever. (For the record, I too HATE that retailers start marketing Christmas right after Halloween.)

Take my weird older brother, for example. He’d much rather receive a gift that was cheap and cool than expensive and boring. Don’t believe me? Members of the jury, I give you the hands-down, smack-your-head, change-your-britches favorite Brian Bubak Christmas gift:

elvis.jpg

Yes, that’s right. The classic velvet Elvis painting. Note that to reach the heights of splendidity that is a Velvet Elvis, it must be a rendering of Jumpsuit Elvis shedding a single tear. Young, hot Elvis doesn’t cut the mustard (or peanut butter). So proud of this treasure, was my brother, that he insisted on hanging it over his marital bed for several years. This could explain my sister-in-law’s skittishness when gift-giving time rolls around.

So how does one top a Velvet Elvis? Why, with another revolutionary, of course:

mpp7003che-guevera-posters.jpg

The ubiquitous Che Guevara T-shirt.

Unfortunately, my quest for a Mexico-bought Pancho Villa T-shirt ended in failure. There were shrines to him all over during the Day of the Dead but just try to find a T-shirt commemorating his bloody life.

This year, I thought I’d try to get on Jane’s good side by giving them a ‘together’ gift that (hopefully) won’t make her hang her head in shame. Ann and Kay gave me the idea, the Mason Dixon Knit-a-long gave me the inspiration, and eBay gave me the required yardage.

Log cabin

I’m finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m on square 7 of a 9 square afghan in log cabin style. Red in the center, then blue, grey and green alternating. I know I’ll be done with the squares before the Big Day but I don’t know if the border will make it. Don’t you just love surprises?!

Hey, where did you find those fantastic needles, you ask? Why I made them myself, thank you very much! A winter with too much time on my hands and too many power tools at my disposal ended with several new sets of needles. These are somewhere in the vicinity of size 6 and are made out of simple wooden dowels found at The Depot. Add a stop made of purple heart and you have some very pretty needles to play with.

needles.jpg

They could only be cooler if these were little tiny Elvis heads.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Yummy Yummy In My Tummy

  1. Hey LaDonna – I get the whole velvet Elvis thing. I have a friend who gave me “Are You Hungry Tonight” Elvis recipe book for a wedding present. And at our Cinco de Mayo event here in St. Paul there were much Pancho and Zapata T-shirts. My Spousal Unit bought Zapata.

    But on to knitting content, if you check my blog there is a layout with border for my stockinette squares blanket. It would work the same way for yours. You make tiny elvis heads and I am so there….do you take paypal?
    Mary Lou

  2. You have several options for the border. It depends if you would like it to be a wide one or not. 1. you could pick up on one side, knit, bind off, on to the next side, like log cabin, just the border color.
    2. Pick up first side, knit, turn, k1fb, knit to the end , repeat. That makes the corner wider and wieder . You make it on each side and in the end you sew the corner together.
    3. with your border color you pick up sts and make a knitted on border like Elizabeth Zimmermann suggests. Hmh, you ‘ll need a book from her. or
    4. If you just want a smal border you could pick up as you go and make a knitted on I-cord in an contrasting color, which is very nice looking as well.
    I’m sure I’ve confused you now. ;o)

  3. I have always wondered where exactly one would come across a velvet Elvis. Although I do remember seeing one hanging in the little museum up at Graceland. I thought that was kind of funny.
    I can’t wait to see how your afghan turns out.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

