Ooooh Mexicoooo

Having sailed down Baja with my folks as a fiesty teen, I have extremely fond memories of it. So when Bossman asked if I wanted to go on a free trip to Mexico, how could I refuse? The Baja Department of Toursim set up a press trip for seven journalists to explore the “undiscovered paradise of Baja California Sur.” We all had a good chuckle out of that since we’ve all been to and heavily promote Baja, but who are we to turn down such an offer?

dsc_0238.jpg
I’ll spare you the boring details (because much of it was a total bore) and just share a few highlights. We spent 3 night in La Paz, which is one of my favorite places, where we toured developments and resorts – even though they knew my focus would be on boats and marinas, I had to fight tooth and nail to spend more than 5 minutes anywhere ‘unscheduled’. One of the spots they took us to was a new development on El Mogote, a peninsula across from town that is part of the natural beauty of La Paz. Now it will be a playground for the elite. My heart was breaking as we toured it because I had my first kiss on the beach there (ok, to be honest, it wasn’t my REAL first kiss – that was a couple weeks before at a disco with a 24-year-old guy who looked exactly like a skinny, curly haired George Michael…sigh…).

They fed us well though. Too well. I had to roll onto the plane. They nearly had to give me one of the seatbelt extenders. Not really. But they did feed us. A lot. This was one of the best meals. It’s the house specialty at Tequila’s Sunrise in Todos Santos, across from Hotel California (where we stayed – awesome!). It’s a poblano chile stuffed with “shrimps” and four cheeses in some yummy sauce and sprinkled with pomegranite seeds. It was just a hair spicy (I’m a total weenie) which nicely complemented the tart sweetness of the seeds. I would highly recommend it to anyone but my sister, who’s a bigger weenie than me.

dsc_0347.jpg

It was great meeting other journalists because I still have a hard time swallowing that title. Hubbo brags about it whenever he can but it just embarrasses me. I should just enjoy the ride until they find out I’m a total fraud.

dsc_0369.jpg

Anyway, these are my two new best buds, Diana (Dee-ana), who’s Editor for El Latino newspaper in San Diego, and Bryce, a freelancer for various pubs including Travel Age West. We were the ‘bad kids’ of the group, always chatting amongst ourselves instead of paying attention to yet another boring church or whatever they were passing off as interesting article fodder.

I brought some knitting but succeeded only in screwing it up. I bought some cream Merino from KnitPicks, died it with Kool-Aid (Cherry, Tropical Punch and Strawberry all come out the same color, FYI), and started a pair of Jaywalkers on two circulars. All the scenery and jabber conspired to make me miss a decrease somewhere and I didn’t have the energy or patience to fix it. Lesson learned: never try to knit a patterned sock while riding with nine people in an eight passenger van in Mexico. Heed my words of wisdom, ya’ll!

Now I’m back to the old grind. The socks are in a cupboard waiting to be sorted out while I knock out my brother’s Christmas throw. Just like Baja, my exciting socks are pushed out of my mind while I toil away at more mundane — but ultimately, more fulfilling — things.dsc_0160.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ooooh Mexicoooo

  1. I love your photos. As a former Mexi-phile (I, too, have been to La Paz and sailed the Gulf of CA), I always get a pang when I think of my former haunt. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

